top of page

Well ... now what?

It's hard knowing what to think, what to feel … how to be.

This has been (so far) a summer of intense change, a time of uncertainty perhaps, perhaps a well-deserved break after seven years of what … almost beginning a career?

And now, here I sit, just your average, unemployed newspaper editor going out of my mind because I'm suddenly without a newspaper.

April 29, 2015 – the first day of the rest of my life. My job was laid off in a cost-saving maneuver. These days I glance at the newspaper on newsstands, disgusted with the shoddy layout, chafed by the interruption of so much community outreach cut short for reasons beyond my ken. The only thing I managed to grab on my way out of the office were a few personal items and a stack of reader feedback slips – the majority of which say their favorite thing about the newspaper was my column, “Petzold's Perspective,” and the negatives being “not anything I can think of right now.”

Shoeless Joe said getting kicked out of baseball was like having part of his body amputated … for me I think it was the other way around. The newspaper itself underwent the surgery, this time replacing a heart full of love for the job and the readership with an artificial replacement generic blood-pumper that just wants to go home on time whether the paper sucks or not. I felt like a vital part of the body that had been amputated, left to watch the body founder without me.

After amassing a slew of community collaborators with high hopes for future endeavors to promote worthwhile causes, now I apply for two jobs a week to earn my unemployment income and do odds and ends to make cash on the side.

The good work continues – my help is still sought to promote my community and bring arts and entertainment to the neighbors I love. My work as a church organist continues unimpeded by the betrayal of the corporate world. Other people are angry on my behalf … I just feel thankful I had the chance to try – and I did it all without pressing my lips to the backside of some corporate stooge.

And, on the plus side, my dog Ted and I have a lot more time for walks. We have had a great summer so far, and we remain confident that the next step will reveal itself in due time.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page